Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

(1) The council president shall be elected for a one-year term. That person who has served the longest on the council and has not previously acted as council president shall normally be entitled to election as the president. A councilor may be re-elected as president of the council only after the expiration of one year from the date the councilor last served as such president unless two-thirds of the total membership of the council votes otherwise. A councilor will not be eligible to be elected president who has not served as a councilor for at least two years.

(2) The vice-president of the council shall be elected at the same time and in the same manner as the president of the council. A vice-president may be nominated and elected as president.

(3) The candidates for president and vice-president of the council shall be nominated and elected by a majority vote at the first regular meeting of the council in each calendar year.

(Section 2.009 added by Ordinance No. 18001, enacted June 13, 1977; and administratively amended by Ordinance No. 20113, enacted April 6, 1998, effective May 6, 1998.)